C28flyer

Home / C28flyer


 
Do you want a McDonalds Sign in your park? 
Help save our parks?

OPPOSE AMENDMENT C28 TO THE BAYSIDE PLANNING SCHEME

I am writing to you as a concerned resident of the City of Bayside.

It has recently come to my attention that Council is planning to introduce changes to the Bayside Planning Scheme that will facilitate commercial signage within all parks and public open spaces throughout the municipality without full and proper community consultation.

The Category 2 level signage proposed by Council is a level normally applicable to Office and Industrial areas. The standards for advertising in industrial and office areas is completely contrary to the type of signage that would be allowed in a residential area, let alone in a park which serves a broader community purpose. Further, the proposed advertising Category 2 classification will allow ALL the following signage to be erected without a permit, and therefore we will not have a chance to have a say

 
  • 8 square metres of Business Identification signage,
  • One Direction Sign, and an
  • Pole sign;
  • Internally illuminated sign up to 1.5 square metres
  •  
    Further, unlimited additional signage can be approved at the Council’s discretion. Our parks could end up with mountains of advertisings signs – can you imagine a McDonalds Sign in your local park or KFC bucket. Whilst it sounds absurd, under these proposed changes to the scheme it is possible – all in the name of the big sponsorship dollar.

    Council has adopted a minimalist approach to community consultation, which has resulted in only four objections being lodged with Council. 
    PLEASE DON’T LET COUNCIL THINK THAT THIS IS BECAUSE WE DON’T CARE.

    I urge you as a matter or urgency to write to Council objecting to this amendment, firstly on the basis that the consultation undertaken has been inadequate, and secondly, on the basis that we do not want our parks to be exploited for commercial purposes to benefit the minority at the expense of the majority – those of us who enjoy the parks for what they are. 

    This matter will be discussed at the Council Chambers, Boxshall Street, Brighton commencing at 7.00 pm on 16 December 2002. Please come along and make your feelings known.

    IF WE DO NOTHING, THEN IT IS LIKELY THAT THIS WILL BE APPROVED. IF IT IS APPROVED THEN WE WILL ONLY HAVE OURSELVES TO BLAME WHEN WE LOOK OUT OF OUR WINDOW AND SEE THE GOLDEN ARCHES OR THAT BIG GLOWING BUCKET OF CHICKEN. 

    I implore all community minded people who want to defend our parks to contact your local councillor and express your concern at this unreasonable proposal. 

    Please help me save our parks from commercial signage.

    Mike Halstead-Lyons Mob : 0427-933-696

    If you cannot attend this important meeting please call the elected Councillors and express your concern regarding this degradation of Public Open Space.

    Ebden Ward : Cr Simon Russell 0417-396-077 srussell@bayside.vic.gov.au

    Dendy Ward : Cr Gary Andrews 0408-348-842 gandrews@bayside.vic.gov.au

    Weir Ward : Cr Michael Heffernan 0407-338-710 mheffernan@bayside.vic.gov.au

    Smith Ward: Cr Graham Disney 0417-395-938 gdisney@bayside.vic.gov.au

    Clayton Ward: Cr Craig Tucker 0417-392-737 ctucker@bayside.vic.gov.au

    Abbot Ward: Cr Nicholas Eden 0409-136-435 neden@bayside.vic.gov.au

    Charman Ward : Cr Terry O’Brien 0417-399-755 tobrien@bayside.vic.gov.au

    Moysey: Cr Ken Beadle 0412-286-617 kbeadle@bayside.vic.gov.au