Declaration Bayside Southern 2012

Home / Declaration Bayside Southern 2012

Heather Stewart, B Env (Melb), pictured above – then a member of the Management Committee of Beaumaris Conservation Society Inc – was declared to be the first-elected councillor-elect for Southern Ward by the Returning Officer, Ms Elaine Milne, at the Bayside City Council Corporate Centre, Royal Avenue, Sandringham, on Monday, 2012-10-29.

Heather, before taking her seat on the Council, on 2012-11-07, resigned from the BCS Inc. Management Committee, to avoid any conflict of interest with her Council duties. Heather polled the most first preference votes in her ward.

The other new Southern Ward councillor is Laurence Evans. BCS Inc. remembers him favourably during his 1984-91 time as a Sandringham City councillor. Of the five Southern Ward candidates that letterboxed leaflets, Mr Evans was the only one elected.

Michael Norris, who was not re-elected to Southern Ward in 2012, is sadly missed, as a major voice on Council, from 2005-12, on matters of concern to BCS Inc. Simon Russell, who recommended that Southern Ward voters for him give their second preference to Wayne

Wilson, was a Sandringham councillor from 1990-94, and then a Bayside councillor, but failed to be re-elected in 2012. See VEC poll summaries. See preference distribution spreadsheets for the Northern, the Central
and the Southern Wards at those three links, which each has a link to candidates’ statements, photographs, and preference recommendations for the ward.

For the previous declaration in 2008, click here.