President’s Report to the 55th Annual General Meeting: 2007-09-13

Home / President’s Report to the 55th Annual General Meeting: 2007-09-13

1. Planning issues are still a major concern. The green leafy garden settings once typical of Beaumaris are rapidly disappearing. We see blocks where all vegetation is removed prior to construction of 2-storey fence-to-fence houses. We have joined residents in objecting to inappropriate development in the following broad spread of areas:

Cromer Road31A4749124
Deauville Street26   
Haldane Street67   
Haydens Road5   
Morey Road65   
North Concourse31A   
Olinda Avenue9   
Pasadena Avenue9   
Pellatt Street8   

2. Other issues taken up: These include the skateboard sites proposed, the Key Street car park redevelopment, our opposition to the proposal for a liquor licence for the Ricketts Point Tea House, and the Concourse Structure Plan (Amendment C49 to the Bayside Planning Scheme).

I thank the current councillors of Bayside for their concern in planning matters. New ward boundaries will apply for the 2008 Council elections, with 3 councillors to be elected for the new Central Ward, and 2 to be elected for each of the new Northern and Southern Wards respectively.

3. Affiliations: BCS Inc. continues to be a Member Organization of Port Phillip Conservation Council Inc, where two of our members are members of the Management Committee, and of Save Our Suburbs Inc.

4. BCS Inc. Management Committee: Thanks go to all members of the Management Committee for their contribution to the aims of the Society.

  • Ron Morris as Secretary
  • Geoffrey
    Goode as Treasurer, and also as a source of knowledge on the history of
    the area and the part that BCS Inc. has played in it
  • Fiona Austin, Ingrid Ashford, Chris Sutton and Rod Nash for their involvement in planning matters
  • Ted
    Pearce, Heather Stewart and Ted Whittle for their work in the areas of
    publicity and membership. The April 28th function at the Concourse
    brought us nearly 60 new members. The total number of members now
    exceeds 400.
  • Ken Rendell for keeping us informed on issues of importance relating to vegetation in the area
  • Josie
    Cerbasi and Patricia Glazier for their contributions at Committee
    meetings and to all the Zone Leaders for distributing material as

Adrian Cerbasi President