The meeting was chaired by Mr. Eric Meehan, and there were 23 members present.
Minutesof the 2nd Annual Meeting were read and accepted on a motion put by Mr. (William) Leech and seconded by Mrs (Patricia) Sinclair.
Apologieswere received from Mrs Stock, Mrs Webb, and Mrs. Outhred.
The President’s Reportfor the year was read by Mrs. (Edith [Bea]) Hosking. This covered the first two Native Plant Displays, the 1954 barbecue stalls, the distribution of leaflets and an outline of the form of a new one to be printed, the planting of street trees, and the preparation of a plan of planting for the Returned Services League and the efforts to obtain a sanctuary for wild flowers. Mr. (William) Ridland proposed that the president’s report be accepted. This was seconded by Mrs. Rodger. Mr (John) Carroll spoke in support of the motion, and added that he felt that the Society was to be complimented on the amount of work undertaken and the scope of their activities. He recalled that the society had been envisaged by certain members of the Parents’ & Citizens’ Association, but it was not until Mrs. (Edith [Bea]) Hosking undertook to convene the first meeting, and became its first president that their idea bore fruit.
Treasurer’s ReportThe Treasurer, Mrs. (Catherine) Carroll, reported that the Society’s funds now stood at £235-13-4, and gave a detailed account of the financial business of the Society for the year. Mr. (William) Leech proposed that the Treasurer’s Report be adopted, adding that he felt that the Society should be congratulated on their sound financial position. Mr. Plumridge seconded the motion. Mrs. (Edith [Bea]) Hosking moved a vote of thanks to the Secretary, Mrs. (Sheila) Ridland, the retired Assistant Secretary, Mrs. (Susanne) Macdougall, and the present Assistant Secretary, Mrs. Rodger, for their work during the year. This was seconded by Mrs. Haddrick.
The Election of Office-bearersfor the coming year then took place.
Mr. Colin Macrae was elected president, nominated by Mrs. (Edith [Bea]) Hosking and seconded by Mr. (William) Leech. Mr. (Colin) Macrae thanked the members, and expressed the Society’s appreciation of Mrs. (Edith [Bea]) Hosking’s 3 years work as president, and regret at her decision to retire from the office. He also expressed appreciation of the work of Mr. (Norman) Hosking and his team of helpers in running the Coconut Shy at the 1954 Barbecue on our behalf.
Mrs. (Bea) Hosking was elected vice-president, nominated by Mr. (Colin) Macrae, seconded by Mr. (William) Ridland.
Mrs. (Sheila) Ridland was elected secretary, nominated by Mrs. (Edith [Bea]) Hosking, seconded by Mrs. (Catherine) Carroll.
Mrs. Rodger was elected assistant secretary, nominated by Mrs. (Edith [Bea]) Hosking, seconded by Mrs. (Patricia) Sinclair.
Mrs. (Patricia) Sinclair was elected treasurer, nominated by Mrs. (Catherine) Carroll, seconded by Mrs. Rodger.The following members were elected to the Planting Commitee – Mr. (William) Leech, Mr. Plumridge, Mr. Scott, Mr. Glass, Mrs. Bartholomew, Mr. (Edward) Hassett, Mr. Hickey and Mrs. Nickels & Mrs. Webb.The following members were elected to the general Committee – Mrs. (Susanne) McDougall, Mrs. (Catherine) Carroll, Mr. (William) Leech, Mr. Plumridge, Mr. Scott, Mr. (Edward) Hassett, Mrs. Bartholomew, Mrs. Nickels & Mrs. Webb.
They were nominated by Mr. (John) Carroll and seconded by Mr. (William) Ridland.
Mr. John Carroll was elected Parents’ & Citizens’ Association liaison officer, nominated by Mrs. (Edith [Bea]) Hosking, seconded by Mr. Plumridge.
The chairman handed over the meeting at this stage to the President, Mr (Colin) Macrae.
Mr. (Eric) Meehan moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Committee, expressing the opinion that the Society’s aims and the way it worked were most praiseworthy. Mrs. Feeley seconded the motion.
General BusinessMr. (Colin) Macrae pointed out that the previous Committee had indicated to the Sandringham Council that we would be willing to donate £50 towards the cost of fencing a sanctuary for wildflowers and asked members for approval of this. Mr. (Edward) Hassett moved that the Society donate £50 for this purpose. The motion was seconded by Mr. (Eric) Meehan. At Mr. (William) Ridland’s suggestion, it was further indicated that the committee has the approval of members to increase this sum if it is considered necessary.A discussion took place as to whether this Society should try to buy land for a sanctuary if the Council fails to.

Mr. (Eric) Meehan expressed the opinion that the matter was of great importance and put a motion that, failing acquisition of land for a sanctuary by the Council, this Society should make every effort to secure the four blocks in Gramatan Ave. Mr. (Jack) Scott seconded this and the motion was carried.

Mr. (Edward) Hassett moved that the Society should contact the Stella Maris people, and offer them our advice when they intend clearing their land, and suggest to them that they only clear sufficient land for their immediate needs. Mr. (William) Leech seconded this and offered to follow up the letter by a personal approach.

Mr (Eric) Meehan gave the meeting a resumé of events leading up to the formation of the committee to advise the Council on the care & maintenance of the MacDonald Park, and the advice since offered. He informed members of the date of the next working bee, where it is intended to spread tan bark around the memorial. Mr (John) Carroll drew attention to the fact that the roads around the new shopping concourse are now nearly complete. He also suggested that appreciation should be recorded of the help given to the committee by many people during street-planting and at the Display. He mentioned particularly Mr (Rae) Sinclair’s assistance to the treasurer, and Mr (William) Ridland’s help during the display. He moved that Mr (Rae) Sinclair be appointed honorary auditor. This was seconded by Mr. (Jack) Scott.

A vote of thanks was given to Mr. (Eric) Meehan for chairing the meeting, and for his information about (Donald) MacDonald Park.

There being no further business, the meeting was declared closed at 9.30 p.m.
Sheila Ridland  (Hon. Secretary)
 Return to List of All General Meetings